Press Release IAWM Search for New Music Winners!

Winners of the Search for New Music by Women Composers 2011

From the International Alliance for Women in Music:

Theodore Front Prize - (minimum age 22) Chamber and Orchestral works:

Winner: Julia Adolphe of Los Angeles, CA, "Between the Accidental" for string quartet

Honorable Mentions:
Andrea L. Reinkemeyer of Ann Arbor, MI, "Wild Silk" for baritone saxophone, percussion and piano
Sky Macklay of Memphis, TN, "Before There Was Backspace There Was No Going Back" for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, percussion, and amplified electric typewriter

Miriam Gideon Prize - (minimum age 50) Solo Voice and up to 5 Instruments:

Winner: Anne Kilstofte of Arizona for "String Quartet No. 2, Songs of the Night Wind" for baritone voice and string quartet

Honorable Mentions:
Cynthia Folio of Pennsylvania for "Two Songs on Poems of Stephen Dunn" for soprano, flute and viola
Alice Shields of New York City for "Komachi at Sekidera" for mezzo soprano, alto flute and koto

Sylvia Glickman Memorial Prize - (minimum age 40) String or Piano Trio or Quartet:

Winner: Kathryn Mishell of Austin, TX for "Piano Quartet" for violin, viola, cello and piano

Honorable Mentions:
Diane Berry of Victoria, BC for "A Northern Winter's Night" for violin, viola, cello and piano
Marilyn Devin of Los Angeles, CA for "Spring Quartet" for string quartet

Libby Larsen Prize - (currently enrolled in school) Any Medium:

Winner: Jessica Rudman of Brooklyn, NY for "Vortices" for orchestra

Honorable Mentions:
Heather Stebbins of Boston, MA for "again and again, however we know this landscape" for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion
Sang Mi Ahn of Bloomington, IN for "Hwae Sang (Remembrance)" for two violins

New Genre Prize - Innovation in form or style, including improvisation, multimedia, use of non-traditional notation:

Winner: Sabrina Peña Young of Murray, KY for "Creation" for chorus, percussion and multimedia

Honorable Mentions:
Hannah Gibbs of York, England for "Tale: A Radiophonic Soundscape"
Ximena Alarcon-Diaz of Leicester, England for "Sounding Underground", an interactive virtual environment

Pauline Oliveros Prize - Electro-acoustic media:

Winner: Nina C. Young of Montreal, Canada for "Kashchei for nine instruments and electronics"

Honorable Mentions:
Leah Reid of Mountain View, CA for "Sparrow (Spero)" flute, horn, percussion, violin, piano and live electronics
Shuai Yao of Muncie, IN for "White Night", an electronic composition using sounds of a Chinese pipa

PatsyLu Prize - Women of color and/or lesbians:

Winner: Jae Eun Jung of San Diego, CA for "Collage of Sketches" for chamber orchestra

Honorable Mentions:
Chia-Yu Hsu of Durham, NC, "Shan Ko" for orchestra
Ching-Yi Wang of Los Angeles, CA, "Beyond the Sound, There is..." for flute, viola and percussion

Judith Lang Zaimont Prize - (minimum age 30) Unpublished and not recorded - Large Solo or Chamber:

Winner: Beryl Lee Heuermann of Missoula, MT for "Ridge of Blue Longing" for two pianos

Honorable Mentions:
Eva Kendrick of Providence, RI for "Sonata for flute, oboe, clarinet, viola"
Carolina Noguera-Palau of Coventry, England for "Nocturno for large ensemble".

Ellen Taaffe Zwilich Prize - (women 21 and under) Any Medium:

Winner: Elizabeth Nonemaker of Los Angeles, CA, "Quite Natural Things" for 2 flutes, 2 clarinets, 2 horns, cello and harp

Honorable Mentions:
Samantha Wolf of Springwood, Australia, "...and all that could have been" for flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola and cello
Molly Joyce of New York City for "5 songs" for soprano, clarinet and piano

Ruth Anderson Prize - Sound installation with electro-acoustic medium:

Winner: Karen Power of County Cork, Ireland for "Are you where you think you are?", which will present soundscapes from specific locations around the world simultaneously, mixed with live sound.

Honorable Mention: Anne Goldberg of New York City for "Gray Areas", which includes electro-acoustic spatialization and live mixing of the interactions of dancers, musicians and audience.


The judges were Susan Epstein Garcia, Professor of Music at the New World School for the Arts in Miami, Florida, and Timothy R. Sullivan, Assistant Professor of Music at Crane School of Music, SUNY Postdam, New York.

Thank you to the hard work by our judges and thank you to all who submitted their music.

Pamela J. Marshall
IAWM Search for New Music Competition Committee.

Enhanced by Zemanta


Eva said…
Dear Sabrina,

Congratulations on your award! What a wonderful achievement! I was one of the Honorable Mentionees and was checking out of the other honorees websites! Really impressive website with some haunting music! Will you be attending the iAWM congress in AZ? If so, I hope to meet you there!

Best wishes,

Popular posts from this blog

Music Secrets: How to Write an Opera, Part 1

Welcome to Space Force Movie Wraps in Buffalo New York